CAP PAC Endorsements for 2014 Primary Election - Citizens Alliance of Pennsylvania

CAP PAC Endorsements for 2014 Primary Election

On May 20th, Pennsylvanians will go to the polls to vote in the primary elections. In many state House and Senate districts voter registrations are skewed heavily to favor either the Republican or Democratic Parties’ candidates. As a result, the primary race for a House or Senate seat is their only real opportunity to determine who represents them in the General Assembly.

The purpose of our Ben Franklin Project is to elect fifty-five members of the Pennsylvania House and fifteen members of the Senate. Given the demographics of House and Senate districts, we participate in primary races out of necessity. This year we met with a record breaking number of candidates.

Here are the men and women we have selected for endorsement:

Open Seats (House)

Cris Dush, Republican—District 66 (Indiana and Jefferson Counties)
G. Rogers Howard, Republican—District 158 (Chester County)
Ernie Merisotis, Republican—District 93 (York County)
Ken Norton, Republican—District 5 (Berks County)
Marc Woerner, Republican—District 169 (York County)

Note: In House District 80 both candidates, Judy Ward and Aaron Ritchey completed our survey and indicated that they would opt out of the legislative pension system.  In our view, they are both excellent candidates. Given the strengths of both candidates, we are remaining neutral in that race.

Challenging Incumbents—Interparty (House)

John Dissinger, Republican—District 101 (Lebanon County)
Davis Haire, Republican—District 117 (Luzerne and Wyoming County)

Challenging Incumbent in General Election

Camera Bartolatta, Republican—Senate District 46 (Beaver, Green and Washington Counties)
Jason Ortitay, Republican—House District 46 (Washington County)


Sen. John Eichelberger, Republican—District 30 (Blair, Cumberland, Franklin, Fulton and Huntingdon Counties)
Sen. Scott Wagner, Republican—District 28 (York County)
Sen. Mike Folmer, Republican—District 48 (Dauphin, Lebanon and York Counties)

Rep. Stephen Bloom, Republican—District 199 (Cumberland County)
Rep. George Dunbar, Republican—District 56 (Westmoreland County)
Rep. Joe Emrick, Republican—District 137 (Northumberland County)
Rep. Eli Evankovich, Republican—District 54 (Armstrong and Westmoreland Counties)
Rep. John McGinnis, Republican—District 79 (Blair County)
Rep. Rick Saccone, Republican—District 39 (Allegheny and Washington Counties)
Rep. Thomas Sankey II, Republican—District 73 (Cambria and Clearfield Counties)
Rep. Justin Simmons, Republican—District 131 (Lehigh and Northampton Counties)
Rep. Dan Truitt, Republican—District 156 (Chester County)

Please, consider making an investment in Pennsylvania’s future and contribute to the CAP PAC.